Private Relationship

Atheist is a person, according to me, who is unaware of his own divinity. I met one atheist who was talking about altruism. I said to him, “From where did this thought of altruism come? Is it not the sense of oneness which has sponsored the thought of altruism?” He declined. He said that it was just common sense. From where does this concept of ‘common’ sense come and what does it imply? Is it not something we feel in ‘common’ with others ? Doesn’t common sense imply something that makes sense for all?
It is said that law is nothing but common sense. It suggests that if we apply common sense, we will not need laws. In fact, if we understood what makes sense for all, we will not need many things…we will not need wars, we will not need to spend billions and billions on defence..we will not need courts to administer justice…nor would we need religions to know and do what is good and pious. (But, common sense is not that common, yet.)
Today I met an atheist. He said, “I don’t believe that God exists.”
I said…what is that?
He said what do you mean?
I said…what is it that you believe does not exist? …
He said..God…
I said..that’s what I am asking..what is God?
He was puzzled.
He said what do you mean by that…what do you mean by..what is God..?
I said…i mean what I asked…what is it you are calling God..?
He exclaimed…you don’t know about God?
I replied…how can you expect me to know about that what you do not believe to exist?
He was silent.
I added…actually we cannot possibly argue about something that does not exist. To quote Aristotle: To say that something does not exist is a ‘contradiction in terms’. You are not talking about God’s existence. You are denying either to see or to admit the proofs of His existence. You are not refusing to accept that God exists. You are refusing to accept His presence inside you and inside everything. Isn’t it?

It would not be out of place to mention about agnosticism.
Agnostic..denotation:
a person who believes that nothing is known or can be known of the existence or nature of God.
According to the philosopher William L. Rowe, “agnosticism is the view that ‘human reason is incapable’ of providing sufficient rational grounds to justify either the belief that God exists or the belief that God does not exist”.

I think the very basis of theism is neither logic and/or reason nor belief formed or acquired? It is a matter of knowing.
Someone once asked Carl Jung, “Do you believe God exists?”
Jung replied, “I do not believe. I KNOW God exists.”
It is a pure and simple knowing. And as such, a very personal experience. In fact, recently I came across a video in which a young woman says that her relationship with God is a private matter. I could resonate with that thought. I, too, enjoy a very special and intimate relationship with my Friend, God. 😀

Love, Joy, Happy Thoughts

Shubha Baldota

2 thoughts on “Private Relationship

Leave a Reply

